Kara Remembers

2 11 2009

I’m a huge scifi geek/nerd, take your pick. And one of my top shows is Battlestar Galactica (the re-imagined one). Now if you don’t watch this show you should and if you have and don’t like it, then you didn’t watch enough. Anyway I’m not going to give a whole plot synopsis to explain today’s post, so if you want to know more go and use the wonders of the internet. The focus of today’s post is on a piece of music used in BSG. It’s called “Kara Remembers” – or the Final Four Theme. In the 3rd season Bear McCreary did a re-imagined, kick arse version of “All Along the Watchtower.” This piece is the next step along from that. It related to the discovery of the Cylons and Kara (played by Katee Sackhoff) – I won’t go into more detail than that. So this piece of music is utterly fantastic. Every time I listen to it, I get chills. It’s frakkin’ awesome. At the Grand performance Series in Los Angeles, they did a performance of “Kara Remembers” and “All Along the Watchtower.” For the part from the show when Kara plays the piece, Katee Sackhoff came on stage and played her part with Bear McCreary. It’s one of the best things I’ve ever watched on you tube. I know that I had a fan girl squee too, but just the fact of how brilliant the music sounds and what a genius Bear McCreary is. So for your viewing pleasure, have a look at the video of the live performance and also the actual soundtrack version.

Battlestar Galactica season 4 soundtrack

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 11 2009
Sarah

Kara Remembers is one of the best pieces Bear McCreary has ever done. It makes me want to go learn the drums right now!

4 11 2009
Lisa Fraser-Clark

Makes me want to learn the piano!

Leave a Reply

