Zoetroping

26 10 2009

So I’m currently working on my end of year project at the moment. It’s called Telling tales. I have a story from the Museum of City and Sea’s exhibition which I have to make into a motion graphic. As my story is from 1918, I want it to look like it belongs in the time. So after much umming and aahing about what I was going to do, it was suggested that I look at zoetrope. Now even though they were around earlier than my story, they were considered a Victorian toy, so I hope I can get away with that. So for the past couple of days I have been working on making filters in Photoshop and adding them to my footage in After Effects. I have also been adding adjustment layers to the footage as well, to add things like jitter etc. I don’t want it to look overdone, but still relatively authentic. So far all my footage has been shot with a still camera, so when it’s imported into After Effects it has an almost flip book like quality. I did the first experiment of footage, with filters and everything on Friday. It worked out pretty well. Sadly I can’t post the whole vid. But have a look at these.

A still from Telling Tales project

A still from Telling Tales project

 

second still from Telling Tales project

second still from Telling Tales project

Actions

Information

One response

26 10 2009
Sarah

They look amazing. I like the second shot best. Zoetroping gives it a cool look

Leave a Reply

